appughar

PhD – a spiritual journey

In Uncategorized on October 19, 2008 at 3:17 pm

I am on the verge of submitting my thesis (hopefully in another couple of months’ time). Last 5 odd years have been a tumultuous , enjoyable and almost surreal (nevertheless extremely real) ride. Today, in a department function I was asked to summarise whether I enjoyed the last five years of my PhD life and given a chance (in a hypothetical second life) will I dare to do a PhD again. The answer to second question is clear, ‘yes’ I will dare to do a PhD again. However I would love to take a gist of experiences I had learned during my current endeavour to my next/parallel life, to make that experience more enterprising and rewarding. The question regarding the enjoyment quotient of the PhD process is hard to answer. In fact, I really could not formulate an answer  (and I suspect, the chances are slim that I will converge to a reasonable answer in future also). It really has been a love and hate relationship for me with the PhD process. There were times when despair and panic made deep in-roads in me. Let me be honest, the thought of quit-ing PhD did cross my mind multiple number of times.   And there where times when the process was enthralling, exciting and extremely enjoyable.

It is almost impossible to condense experiences from the last 5 years into blog-post(s), without being overtly verbose. Hence I am not attempting to do so.

There are few qualities (good as well as bad) the process of doing PhD has instigated inside me. I see, hear and understand things very differently from what I used to 5 years back. The attempt of these posts (hopefully I will follow this up with many more) is to briefly touch upon the qualities that I am proud of having acquired in the past years. It is a more of a meta-physical counterpart to my thesis, however with a stricter adherence to Occam’s razor. I am candidly acknowledging that the posts are self-indulging (and this is intentional!). So my prior apologies for that.

Leave a Reply

